fbpx Skip to main content

Nagasaki Prefecture

Nagasaki Prefecture consists of the northwestern tip of Kyushu and hundreds of smaller islands. Prefectural capital is Nagasaki City. Another popular tourist destination is the Shimabara Peninsula with Mount Unzen at its center. Key attractions in Nagasaki City include Nagasaki Peace Park, Mount Inasa, Sofukuji Temple, Kufukuji Temple, Oura Church, Confucian Shrine, Gunkanjima, and Dejima – a former district reserved for Dutch traders. Nagasaki also holds The Nagasaki Kunchi, a festival of Suwa Shrine, held annually.