fbpx Skip to main content


The four main Islands of Japan are Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu. Japan also has over 6,000 smaller islands. Some islands are artificial, such as Odaiba in Tokyo Bay, or the Kansai International Airport in Osaka Bay. Miyajima – home to Itsukushima Shrine – is a small island near Hiroshima most famous for its giant Torii Gate.